Spiritual Metaphors

mcquaid_rideIt’s hard to describe the significance of an encounter with God in such a way for others to fully appreciate the magnitude of the moment.

While cycling home from work today, I was met by the Holy Spirit. He was in the wind that pushed against me, moved with me, and carried me faster – a metaphor of the mission he has called my family and me to in Northern Virginia. When the Spirit of God pushes against me – He strengths me. When the Spirit moves with me – He refreshes me. When the Spirit carries me faster – He empowers me.

On a 47 degree day, when my body is working hard, the wind cools me – just as the Spirit of God cools me as I labor in Jesus’ mission and fight for His cause. May the Spirit of God continue to strengthen, refresh, and empower me in His mission in Northern Virginia as the wind did today on my ride home – a journey that is ultimately taking me to my eternal home!

There is nothing quite as exhilarating and freeing as peddling over 30 miles per hour with the wind to my back – so it is with the Spirit of God.

2 Responses

  1. Great analogy
    Dee.

  2. Ron,

    It is good to remind us of the power of the Holy Spirit. We talk a lot about God and Jesus Christ but not so much about the Holy Spirit. Wonder why that is…

    Billy Graham also used the wind to describe the Holy Spirit when he said that you can’t see actually see the wind, but you see see the effects of the wind. We may not be able to see/touch the Holy Spirit, but we can sure see His effect in our lives.

    BTW, awesome teaching last Sunday at New Life Centreville — “Don’t Go to Church, BE the Church!”

    Dale

Leave a Reply

