Father Moment

Sunday morning my oldest daughter (age six) came to sit with me halfway through a morning of worship with our High School Students. As she snuggled next to me, with my hands already raised in worship, I whispered in her ear, “You know how you come to me and raise your hands up to me – to pick you up – to hold you – to receive my love – to give me your love. Well, when we worship God, it is good to raise our hands to Him too. It is one way that we say to Jesus, ‘hold me; I want to receive your love and show you my love.'” My daughter then raised her hands to Jesus. What a great moment as a father – teaching my daughter how to demonstrate her love to the Father.

One Response

  1. Very beautiful illustration to emphasize the importance in raising our hands to God. It touches me from the inside out. Sometimes we keep on explaining to the church why it is so important to use our body language to reach to God. But this one is the best and is so cute. It’s the way Jesus wants us to love Him – passionately and desperately. Thank you and may God keep on blessing you and your family.

Leave a Reply

