Older Adults/Parents make Great Small Group Leaders

One of the most frustrating comments I can hear from a parent or someone older than 35 is “I don’t want to serve in Student Ministries because the students prefer to have leaders that are young”. I don’t think these students would agree.

Each statement below is written by a different student pertaining to their small group leader – who, by the way, is 35 or older and in many cases the parent of a student who is in junior or senior high. This year my small group leader…

  • really got to know me and helped me along in my walk, and she taught me how to trust God and rely on His plans for me
  • explained all the lessons completely and made everything clear to me.  She was so kind and loving to all of her girls.
  • is amazing, she really encouraged me a lot
  • helped me become saved, encouraged me to be closer to God, taught me more about God
  • has helped me realize how to help show other people the glory of God
  • helped me grow in relationships with God and my friends.  She also taught me how important it was to be consistent and keep praying
  • helped me realize that I needed God!
  • taught me to always look to God
  • helped me with problems at school and at home, taught me ways to act Godly
  • acted as the hands and feet of Jesus, showed us we can trust God with anything
  • helped me to remember that God is always there with open arms, Leslie is awesome!!
  • showed me how to radiate God’s light
  • has been able to give us good advice for our problems, and she has set a good example for us girls.  We really appreciate what she has done.
  • was nice and cared for us, and gave us very good advice.
  • gave me advice and listened and helped me grow in my faith with God.
  • gave me very helpful advice in a very tough situation that I’ve been through.  She has been a very positive role model in my spiritual life and has challenged me more than she knows.
  • has helped me forgive people more quickly
  • helped me through tough times and used God too
  • encouraged us and made our experiences fun!
  • I wasn’t here much at all, but my small group leader sent me letters.
  • was so fun! She helped me with lots of my problems.
  • has helped me to grow in my relationship with God, she has shown me how to live or Christ
  • made me feel loved and was a good person to talk to
  • helped me by digging deep in the Bible more, and having open discussion about the topic
  • challenged me to be nice to people that I didn’t want to be nice to and I had to pray to God for help in doing this
  • challenged my faith in a good way, she gave me suggestions on how to get closer with God
  • has helped me grow in my spiritual walk, has encouraged me to pursue my goals with my gifts and talents, has always been there to talk about whatever
  • has encouraged me in different situations (mainly with friends to do the right thing).  She has really been there for me and someone I can go to for Godly trust.  I love her!
  • has been there for me to talk to and be a spiritual role model and leader in Christ.  She’s not perfect but sure is close!
  • encouraged me in my faith and showed me a great example of a good Christian woman to follow after
  • has encouraged me to grow and helps me look at things out of a Christian point of view, like if I’m going through something at school or home

Youthfulness is a mindset, not an age. We should never let age disqualify us from ministry. Students are simply looking for love. On the other hand, if student ministry isn’t the best place for someone to serve based on their gifts and passions, they should just say it! No excuses necessary.

For more on what God is doing to transform our students’ lives read:

The Best Team of Small Group Leaders in the Country

Stories of Spiritual Formation 

High School Students make Great Small Group Leaders

Note:

For anyone who is offended because I refer to 35 year olds as “older”, relax. I’m 36. Remember youthfulness is a mindset.

3 Responses

  1. […] Older Adults/Parents make Great Small Group Leaders […]

  2. […] Older Adults/Parents make Great Small Group Leaders […]

  3. […] Older Adults/Parents make Great Small Group Leaders […]

Leave a Reply

