Do you feel old?

A friend was looking at pictures of my children and commenting on how quickly they are growing up. Then asked, “Do you feel old?”

I didn’t have to think about this one. “No. Because I live young.” Knowing this to be true, he replied, “No kidding. Mountain biking, back country skiing, rock climbing.”

Actually, my kids make me feel young. One of the major reasons I stay in shape and play hard is so I can grow up with them. I look forward to these and many other adventures with my children. And the adventures have already begun. How many dad’s bring their son(s) on single track in a bike trailer that is in tow behind their mountain bike? Later this year, I hope to be top roping with my oldest daughter and perhaps in the winter start skiing together. We’ll see. Either way, the adventure has begun.

Yes. My children make me feel young and teach me what it means to be a child.

“He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said: ‘I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven'” (Matthew 18:2,3).

One Response

  1. […] For anyone who is offended because I refer to 35 year olds as “older”, relax. I’m 36. Remember youthfulness is a mindset. […]

Leave a Reply

