Disciples speak God’s words

John 14:10,24

“The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing His work. These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.” (NIV)

Not only are Jesus’ big ideas from the Father, each-and-every-individual word is from the Father. Are my words, always the words of the Father? No, but I wish they where. So how do I speak the very words of God? How do I live in a place where I hear the words of God and speak them to others with authority?

Jesus finds His words from “the Father, living in Him”. The Father abides in Jesus, directing His words. The Spirit of God also abides in me. But in His abiding, do I choose to dwell with Him? Dwelling in quiet, solitude, listening to the voice of God? Listening to His words and repeating them in the authority given me from Jesus?

Being a disciple of Jesus is to mimic all of His life, including His words as derived from the Father.

4 Responses

  1. I know that I don’t sit in solitude and try to listen to God enough. It’s always me asking for things and then getting discouraged when I don’t see an immediate response that I want. But this is my question: what happens when I try to listen to God and I don’t hear His voice? Am I trying too hard? Is it something that has to be practiced? Because, honestly, when I don’t hear His voice, I feel like there is something wrong with me.

  2. Lesley,

    Sometimes we may not hear God’s voice because we’re expecting Him to speak to us. We tell him something or ask a question, then expect Him to answer immediately. In human relationships, I don’t go up to a friend, stand patiently in front of him or her, and expect my friend to start conversing with me. Instead, as I develop a relationship with a person, spend time and live life with that person, I become the recipient of that person’s encouraging voice, phone calls, emails and text messages. I don’t sit down with my computer or phone and wait on the person to communicate with me. If the person is truly my friend, I know because of our friendship that I will hear from that person when he or she wants to speak to me – so long as I am available to receive their message. Sometimes we strive too much to hear from God instead of resting in intimate relationship with Him. Through relationship with Him, I am able to hear Him in the many, and often subtle ways He speaks to me. For me, when I don’t seem to hear from God, it is because I am too busy with my own life and not placing enough value on my relationship with Him.

  3. Mark Batterson wrote some great thoughts in his blog the other day. It is titled “ten ways i hear God”

    Click here or copy this link to read:

    http://www.evotional.com/2007/05/ten-ways-i-hear-god.html

  4. Steve Furtick has also writen a great blog on what to do when we can’t hear God. Click here to check it out:

    http://www.stevenfurtick.com/elevation/261/

Leave a Reply

