Bearing Fruit

Dead Tree

Jesus was hungry. Seeing a fig tree in leaf, he went to see if it had fruit. When he reached it, he found that it had none. Then he said to the tree, “May no one ever eat fruit from you again.” The next day fig tree that Jesus cursed was withered from the roots (Mark 11).

 

It is disconcerting to see Jesus curse that which does not bear fruit. Why would he do this? If the fig tree is symbolic of Israel, then how is the tree symbolic of his people today? Are we (the people of God) bearing fruit that nourishes others? Is it enough to possess life, if we fail to produce fruit?  What does Jesus do with those who do not bear fruit? How can our lives become fruitful? What is the fruit of life?

One Response

  1. You know I have been struggling with this question as well. Not only how do I bare fruit, but how do we challenge each other as “Christians” to wrestle with this question without offending those “Christians” and starting a war.
    What is frustrating to me is coming to grips with the fact that I won’t always see the fruit and sometimes it takes a long time to grow. Also, trying to not feel like a failure because I can’t see it. There are things I am not meant to see, just things I am meant to do and I have to be okay with that. But, that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t be concerned with producing fruit- I can’t just leave it all in God’s hands- when He speaks I need to listen, do what He says and then let Him take it from there. Too often, I have heard Christians say “just pray about it.” SO true and SO needed, but when God requests action from us when we pray, we better listen.
    I do feel that if I am not producing fruit, I need to question myself as a Christian, because that is what we were put here to do. If not, the moment we were saved, God would have lifted us up into Heaven and that would be the end. We are supposed to impact the lives of others for Christ, not just show up to church on Sunday, sing a couple hymns, grab a cup of coffee and be on our way. You say that, though, and people get offended- rightfully so, if you are living your life that way. But then by saying that, are we not being fruitful to those people? But by not saying that are we not being fruitful to them either? So confusing.

Leave a Reply

