Be a Disciple; NOT a christian – part 2

Class ended today with this question, “How many Christians are going to be in hell?” Think about it: Damned Christians. Is this possible? Well, yes. If we understand that adopting the “Christian” label does nothing to secure adoption into God’s family (read yesterdays’ blog for more on this). Jesus never asks us to become Christians.

I can hear it now… “But I prayed, and asked Jesus to come into my heart!” So what?! Where does scripture ever ask us to “pray and ask Jesus in our hearts?” And, what in the world, does it mean “to ask Jesus into your heart” anyhow? Especially considering it isn’t Biblical terminology.

What does Jesus ask of us? “Repent, for the Kingdom of Heaven is here.” Repentance, now there’s a novel idea, to confess ungodly attitudes and actions, and begin living differently. Kind of fits with, “If you love me, you will obey what I command” (see yesterday’s blog on this too).

But, wait, “works can’t save us”. Bingo. We are saved “by grace, through faith”. But faith does not exist apart from works. Faith without action isn’t faith at all. No faith – no redemption. Jesus came to redeem us – redeem us to a new way of living. If our obedience to God has nothing to do with our redemption, then why does Jesus say in Matthew 25:41-46:

“’Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me. I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these; you did not do for me.’ Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

Hummm. It seems we will be judged by our actions – what we do and do not do?

With all this in mind, what does it mean to be a disciple of our Rabbi Jesus?

To read more about our journey from Christianity to Discipleship click here.

2 Responses

  1. […] Radiate « Exciting News about Podcasting Be a Disciple; NOT a christian – part 2 » Be a Disciple; NOT a christian – part 1 April 10th, 2007 Today I began teaching a […]

  2. These are Powerful truths that you are teaching. Our spirithappy.wordpress.com site focuses on finding the spirit in christianity(discipleship) which was lost in many ways to religion. Giving people a false sense of salvation. Praise God

Leave a Reply

